Three weeks after my cancer diagnosis my sister told me “I want to do a Spaghetti Feed for you,”. I replied with, “that makes me feel really weird, I don’t think you should,”. I was not in a place where I could accept help. If you have ever been in that place, where you are too strong, too prideful, or too insecure to accept help, then you know how I felt.

As a little time went on my world began changing. With oxygen in tow, my fitness routine was smashed. I had been going strong for over a year working out 3-6 days a week. This depressed me to have to stop. I had to drop my 7 courses at the college. This was upsetting because anyone who knows me knew how much I enjoyed them. I also had a timed schedule for my degree and cancer changed it. I had a routine at home that I could not keep up with, because 5 out of every 21 days I would be living in a hospital. This structured world I had created, the one in which I had total control was gone. I can tell you it is a lot easier to accept help when your world feels as if it is falling apart, however, I didn’t realize how my world was falling into place.

My sister brought the idea up again a little later. Knowing, I was going to have to be nearly living in California during Stem-Cell Treatment, and knowing my finances, it humbled me. I accepted her wish to do this for me. She then went to my F-Troop, a group of close friends who came together out of a previous community event, and asked for their help. I knew my sister and friends were amazing but I had no idea the outpouring and generosity from not only them but the surrounding communities would be so high.

This Saturday there will be a Spaghetti Feed called Angels for Amanda. There is an estimation of over 125 people coming. Some people I have never met. There will be a silent auction and the donations made, some from friends and family, and some from strangers are again overwhelming.  Over $5,500 worth of products will be auctioned or raffled. I’ve heard the wonderful stories of communities coming together and have even been a part of it. I, however, have never been at the receiving end. Gratefulness sounds like a weak word to describe how this makes me feel. I feel loved and cared for. It brings tears to my eyes to know I am this important to someone. It’s a wonderful feeling.

For Tickets you can visit Everbrite https://www.eventbrite.com/e/angels-for-amanda-tickets-15024291059

Tickets can also be purchased in Carson at Reruns with no additional fee.

They can be purchased in Reno/Sparks area through Vikkey at 775-771-2980 or Niki at 775-434-3471, also with no additional fee.

Tickets can also be purchased at the door, but my Angels are asking for head counts so if you plan on purchasing at the door then please visit the facebook page and let them know. Event through Facebook.

If you cannot attend but wish to donate, you can do so by going to YouCaring

If you want to donate an auction item please contact Vikkey at 775-771-2980 or Niki at 775-434-3471. All auction items must be in by Saturday ready to go, as my Angels will be busy.

So, as to not begin an Oscar like thank you speech, I wanted to share with you the people and businesses who have dedicated time, product, services, and generosity, becoming my Angels. This is one of the ways I am thanking them! Please explore their businesses and services and tell them how AWESOME they are, or just like their facebook pages.

The Kerak Shrine offered their venue FREE of charge. They are even opening the bar for anyone who wants to buy a drink.  If you are looking for a place to throw a party in Reno, make sure to check them out! The space has all the amenities needed for a big bash!

temple-hall

All the Angels below have donated prizes for the silent auction or raffle. Again please visit thier Facebook pages, websites, and locations and let them know how amazing they are!

Performance Training gave 5 Separate, One Month Trainings (this includes 2 weekly sessions) a $150.00 value each for a total donation value of $750.00. 

10036_728582760494910_1210276651_nT Dizzy also known as Teresa Silva donated her tattoo services in the form of a $500.00 gift certificate.

tDizzlecarddopeflotdiddletdiz

Mt. Rose Ski Resort donated 4 lift tickets, a $360.00 value.

MtRose

The Orleans Hotel in Vegas  has donated a 2 Nights/3 Days stay and a Prime Rib Dinner at the Steakhouse $250.00 value.

orleans

Julie Flores and Platinum salon have donated a basket with a gift certificate for a cut & color/weave and Redken products, a $190.00 value.

julie

Fitness Connection donated a 1 Year Membership, a $350.00 value.

FC

B Medical Spa donated a basket containing a gift certificate and Merle Norman beauty products valued at $200.00.

Bb2

My Renown Oncology nurses put together a basket that includes a 90 Minute Massage, Candles, Lotion, Chocolate, and Wine, a $150.00 value.

nursiesb

Petal to the Metal in Reno donated a $150.00 gift certificate for a flower arrangement.

petal

Whispering Vine and another Angel created a basket that includes 2 pairs of wool socks and 2 bottles of wine, a $60.00 value.

whisp

The Reno Aces donated 4 Infield Reserved tickets, a $76.00 Value.

t2310_main_logo

Silver and Blue Outfitters let my Angels put together a basket that includes a little bit of everything for the UNR fan, at a $60.00 value!

wolf

Wild Island donated 6, Pick One Attraction Tickets, a $42.00 value.navlogo

Newman’s Deli in Reno donated a $25.00 Gift Certificate.

hd_newmansA

Black Bear Diner donated a Dinner for Two a $50.00 value.

hdr-logo

Cold Stone  Creamery donated a basket with 4 Ice Cream certificates & T-shirt, a $40.00 Value.

cold

Body Jeweler Company donated a $20.00 Gift Certificate.

body

Portratography in Reno donated a $50.00 Gift Certificate.

butts

My Angels put together a Pregnancy Keepsake Basket, it includes a 3-D Keepsake Gift Certificate for $140.00, Knitted Baby Items, a Baby Organizer and the What to Expect when You’re Expecting book a $200.00 Value

.baby3D

Picasso and Wine donated a Gift for Two, an $80.00 value.

picasso

Fit with Brie donated Two Weeks of Personal Training, a $80.00 Value.

brie

Niki Mercer Scentsy Consultant, (775-434-3471) donated a basket  of mixed Scentsy Products, a $100.00 value.

scentsy

Tutu & Bow sets were put together by 2 Angels, Niki and Marquel. There are 2 up for bid, a  $20.00 value each.

tutu1 tutu2

Golik Photography donated a Gift Certificate with a $125.00 value.

golik

Marquel donated lots of fun knitted things. Values vary!

knit

An Art Angel Donated 3 Separate art pieces with varying values.

art1 art2 art3

Maria and Mari donated a basket of mixed products including Ulta & Yankee Candle, a $50.00 value.

ulta

Beverly donated 3 collectable Barbies all with varying values.

Corie donated a brand new Coach Purse a $150.00 value.

coach

Everlasting Footprints Photography in Carson donated a $125.00 Gift Certificate

ever2

ever

Grassroots donated 8 $5.00 Gift Certificates, a $40.00 value.

grass

Reruns in Carson Donated a 23×16 Decorative  Window/Picture Frame a $70.00 value and a decorative bowl, a $65.00 value.

bowl reruns

Just Brew It  donated products of varying value.

just

Jerry’s Restaurant in Fallon donated 2 Dinner for Two certificates.

jerry's

Jennifer donated over $200.00 in Party Light decor and candles.

party

JJ’s Pie Company donated a $40.00 Gift Certificate.

jjs_facade

My nurse Laura made this Valentine’s Wreath, a $25.00 value.

val

Premiere Jewelry donated items with a $110.00 Value.

pre

An angel donated a jewelry box with jewelry, a $40.00 value.

jew

Sharon and Jim Hoff donated a Denali camp stove valued at $75.00.

camp

Kris Pauley donated a Longerberger Basket a $75.00 value.

basket

A Plexus basket was donated by Jeannie with a value of $25.00.

plex

There are still donations rolling in. It is amazing to see the support and love shown. I cannot thank you enough!

To my Uncle Steve owner of Sclafani Painting thank you for donating $250.00 towards the food for this event! I know this helped the event stay as cost-free as possible.

I would also like to put a special thank you out to all the Masonic Organizations. Adah Chapter Order of the Eastern Star for also helping in paying for food for the event. Your donations were so helpful! To all of the Nevada OES chapters thank you for making numerous donations to help towards my medical costs. I, being a member for only a short time, am already feeling the love! I could not ask for a better organization to be apart of.  To the 2 Past Masters, Ed Young of Washoe Masonic Lodge, and Josh Lantz of Reno 13, thank you for helping with this event and being amazing friends. Ed will be our MC for the night and Josh will be our DJ! Masons wear a lot of hats.  Thank you Vikkey for getting some Grandies from the Order of Rainbow for Girls to come help serve. As well as your friendship and dedication to this Feed. Without you and my sister none of this would be possible! You both worked your tails off. I must of course now thank my first order, Job’s Daughters. Thank you girls and adults for allowing the donations to go through you, that way these businesses could benefit. Thank you also Rita Iroz, and Maddie Iroz for your help in making the center pieces. You know all too well how cancer can flip your world upside down.

To my sister Niki, thank you for being persistent in helping me see my need for help. Thank you also for paying for the table cloths, napkins, center pieces, mason jars and, anything I forgot. I love you.

Thank you all who are coming, have donated, or have prayed for me.Please know that your prayers are worth more than gold and I know God is listening.

Below are duplicate links to purchase tickets, make a donation, or get details on the event.

For Tickets you can visit Everbrite https://www.eventbrite.com/e/angels-for-amanda-tickets-15024291059

Tickets can also be purchased in Carson at Reruns with no additional fee.

They can be purchased in Reno/Sparks area through Vikkey at 775-771-2980 or Niki at 775-434-3471, also with no additional fee.

Tickets can also be purchased at the door, but my Angels are asking for head counts so if you plan on purchasing at the door then please visit the facebook page and let them know. Event through Facebook.

If you cannot attend but wish to donate, you can do so by going to YouCaring

If you want to donate an auction item please contact Vikkey at 775-771-2980 or Niki at 775-434-3471. All auction items must be in by Saturday ready to go, as my Angels will be busy.

Thankyou

